How Many Countries Use Dollar – A Complete List

Here are countries that use dollar as their official currency and those that use USD as a side currency

by Omuiyadun
0 comment

It is known that the US dollar is one of the most stable currencies in the whole world, which is that good for more than just Americans.

Many countries use the United States use US dollar as their official currency. Including Australia and some other wide countries.

That makes people around the world use the dollar as their official currency, and more than 18 trillion of economic activity, according to Investopedia.

Countries that make the dollar their official currency apart from the US country include Ecuador, El Salvador, Zimbabwe, Timor-Leste, Micronesia, Palau, and the Marshall Islands. A couple of British territories in the Caribbean also make use of the Dollar.

Also, there are plenty of countries that regularly use the US dollar alongside their local currency. Those countries include Belize, Barbados, Bahamas, Costa Rica, Cambodia, Liberia, Nicaragua, Nevis, Panama, Myanmar, and St.Kitts.

The US dollar is adopted in Ecuador in 2000 after a financial crisis forced citizens to abandon their own local currency.

Also, the US dollar has become the most widely used of the eight official currencies since hyperinflation made the Zimbabwean dollar worthless in the late 2000s.

Read Also: Top 20 Most Highest Currencies In The World 2023

The three pacific island nations that were territories administered by the United States from 1947 to 1986 are Micronesia, Palau, and the Marshall Islands. They decided to continue using the dollar after achieving independence.

These are the places around the world where they use US dollars.

Territories and Countries that use the US dollar as official currency

  • United States
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Palau
  • Timor-Leste
  • Zimbabwe
  • Territories of the United States ( American Samoa, American Virgin Island, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico.
  • Territories of the United Kindom ( British Virgin Islands, Turks, and Caicos.

Territories and Counties where United State Dollar is used alongside the local currency

  • Bahamas
  • Belize
  • Barbados
  • Costa Rica
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Myanmar
  • Cambodia
  • Liberia
  • Kitts and Nevis
  • Territories of the United Kingdom ( Bermuda and Cayman Islands
  • Territories of the Netherlands ( Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Sint Maarten, Sint Eustatius and Saba.


Related Posts

Leave a Comment